Donate now

Mill Valley Novato Ross Valley San Rafael Tiburon Twin Cities



Lisa Brinkmann, Executive Director
Lisa joined Marin Villages in 2012, after receiving a Master of Science degree in gernotology from the USC Davis School of Gerontology.  Prior to entering the non-profit sector, Lisa held senior management level positions at various technology companies as well as Woodruff-Sawyer & Co. (insurance).  Lisa holds degrees in German, Marketing and a Master's in International Management.  Lisa is a native San Franciscan, currently living in Mill Valley

B.J. (Barbara Jean) Slater, Membership and Development Coordinator
B.J. has a passion for encouraging and supporting older adults in living full and meaningful lives. She has been with Marin Villages since March 2017. B.J. came to us after working as a Sober Companion, coaching adults in the early stages of recovery. She has worked in a wide range of arenas as Event Coordinator and Area Director for non-profis to Project Manager for Ethan Allen. B.J. received her BA in Psychology from Dominican College in San Rafael.

Diane Castro, Volunteer and Administrative Coordinator
Diane Castro comes to us with extensive experience working at senior living communities in Sonoma and Marin counties. Her passion for helping older adults is reflected through her positive and caring attitude, and willingness to help.

Diane brings over 20 years in marketing and public relations where she worked at Public Relations agencies and helped launched start-up companies. She has a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Journalism, with an emphasis in Public Relations. She lives in Novato with her husband and rescue dog, Chauncie.

Mary Brinkmann, Contractor 
Mary has had a long career as an entrepreneur, running her own bakery for over 25 years and most recently receiving certification innutrition counseling. Mary has been able to set in to assist staff and help provide continuity.

Marin Villages' Staff
The Marin Villages staff members listed below are available to answer questions, match volunteers with members, provide resource information and support members/volunteers and community partners as needed.

Executive Director
Lisa Brinkmann, MSG, MBA

Volunteer Program Coordinator
Diane Castro

B.J. Slater, Membership Coordinator

To reach our staff, call: 415-457-4633

Understanding the unique needs and capabilities of their own communities, Local Villages help strengthen the bonds between members and volunteers in their geographic areas.

They organize social activities, develop programs in response to local member needs, and help recruit volunteers to assist members with needs and services. They develop networks among local organizations, merchants, and services to help support their local village membership.

If you have an interest in helping to start a local village in your area, please contact Lisa Brinkmann, Executive Director at the phone or email listed above.

Below are the individuals to contact for information about our individual local villages.

Local Village Contacts:

Mill Valley Village
Connie Dubin, Chair

Novato Village

Jean Gunn, Chair

Ross Valley

Loulie Sutro, Chair

San Rafael Village  

Sparkie Spaethe, Chair

Tiburon Peninsula

Gatian Cunningham, Chair

Twin Cities

Larry Meredith, Chair

The Board of Directors
Each member of our board of directors brings his or her unique experiences and passion for our mission to the work of the board. 

Cheryl Sorokin - President
Larry Meredith - Vice President
Frank Keenan - Treasurer/Secretary
Annmarie Clark
Gatian Cunningham
Ruth Ramsey
Sparkie Spaethe
Susan Steele
Paula Weinberger

Advisory Council
Members of our Advisory Council were instrumental in the founding of Marin Villages.
They continue to share their commitment to our mission by serving as ambassadors for the organization and providing wise counsel to the leadership of the organization.

Dellie Woodring, Chair
Irv Gubman
Trish Hibben
Lee Follett
Jane Matthewman
John Pearson

Loulie Sutro

Members of the board or advisory council may be reached through email to

Marin Villages is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization • 415-457-4633 • • 
4340 Redwood Highway, Suite F-142 San Rafael, CA 94903

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more